About Me

My name is Emily and I am a 27 year old accountant.  My life so far has come to the realization that accounting really just is a job, and not a way of life.



I think that when you are young you have huge aspirations of your career and what you want to get out of it.  Not to say that I am NOT young, it is just that I feel like a lot of different things have gone on in my life that maybe other folks in their mid-twenties have not gone through. 

Some general background:
I am a diagnosed type-2 bipolar.  Right now I am not medicated for it, as the major adjustments to my lifestyle have made all the difference in the world.  I am not opposed to medication to treat it, I just don't need it at this point. 
I have long struggled with food and fitness, however, I have never been overweight or even close to it.  As a high school student I often skipped lunch and then did crunches all night long while watching television after play practice.  This gradually progressed into an all-out eating disorder which haunted me for about 8 years.  I starved, shank myself to 90 lbs, was force fed for a time, at comfortably for a while and then repeated the cycle. 
About 6 years ago I really began to make progress on ME and trying to become a healthy adult woman.  I openly admit that this started because my best friend Katie joined a gym.  She soon had me convinced to join with her, and we both started working out with a trainer.  This is kind of the beginning of my turn around.  At this time I was eating 2200 calories per day and was the leanest I have ever been.  I lifted 5 days per week and did little to no cardio (outside of a warm up). 
Even when working out that hard, I still struggled with my ED.  My weight bounced around, flexing some times as much as 20 lbs!  However, the right people in your life (I will elaborate on this below) really helps a girl to calm down and make the right changes in her life to become a healthy woman. 
Currently my eating is more stable than ever, and I am getting stronger every day.  I am preparing for my upcoming wedding, as well as my first ever competition in November!

So, the right people in your life....

I am marrying a man named J (well, that is how he shall be known to this world) on August 27, 2011.  He truly is the most wonderful man that I have ever met.  I have not ever know anyone so kind or generous.  To me, anyway!  I mean, he has sticking points like every other person, but he has been wonderful to me.  He and I have been through a lot to get to where we are now, but I believe that everything that happened to us is what made us the strong and stable couple that we are now.  And that we should continue to be for the rest of our lives.



J and I have a dog, Teek.  She is a Bichon Poodle mix and she was a year old on April 10, 2011.  She was named Teek because when we brought her home and text pictures to our family, my dad came back with the fact that she looked like an ewok.  I cannot say that I disagree with that assessment.  Teek is the name of one of the ewoks that we googled when looking for names for her.  We landed on that name, and we have been pretty happy.  She is a lot of trouble, to be honest, and J spoils her senseless, but I know it is simply because he loves her so much!

I have blogged for a long time.  10+ years, I think.  And I have spent all of them trying to find the place that I could really be at, could really call "home" on the internet.  I have high hopes that this is it!